Guide · checked 22 October 2026

Cl@ve electronic identification in Spain: what the official pages say

What the official pages say about Cl@ve, the electronic identification system of the Spanish administration, and about registering in it, with the pages that word it differently side by side and what we could not confirm.

This page covers what the official Spanish pages say about registering in Cl@ve, the electronic identification system of the Spanish administration, and about the methods of using it after registration. It does not cover digital certificates, electronic signature, the login screens of any service or the rules of any tax or social security procedure.

In brief

  • This page quotes the pages on Cl@ve and does not say which route, document or level applies to any person: see what we could not confirm.
  • clave.gob.es describes Cl@ve as a user-and-password login for public services online, and a Seguridad Social page names SEPE, the Agencia Tributaria and the Seguridad Social among them; this page does not say which services accept Cl@ve from any person: see What Cl@ve is and where it is used.
  • clave.gob.es and the AEAT describe registering by video or by letter of invitation as giving the basic level, which clave.gob.es says opens many services but not all; the AEAT adds that a video registration may obtain the advanced level after a manual review; this page does not say which level any service asks for: see The basic and the advanced level.
  • clave.gob.es names the DNI and no other document for registering in person, in the words quoted, while the AEAT, administracion.gob.es, the DGT and a Resolución of 2015 name other documents for foreigners; this page does not say which list applies to any foreigner: see the sources that word it differently.
  • The AEAT page describes the letter of invitation as sent by post to the domicilio fiscal, with the registration completed with the Código Seguro de Verificación (CSV); this page does not say what a person with no Spanish tax address does about the letter: see Registering with a letter of invitation.
  • clave.gob.es and the AEAT say video registration is, for now, only for Spanish citizens with a DNI in force, while a Seguridad Social page describes registering by video call with no such limit in its sentence; this page does not say whether any foreigner may register by video: see Registering by video: pages that word it differently.
  • clave.gob.es describes registration with a phone number from another country as possible, and says the receipt of SMS messages from operators of other countries is to be checked; this page does not say that any particular foreign number is accepted: see A phone number from another country.
  • clave.gob.es describes Cl@ve Móvil, a PIN by SMS and Cl@ve Permanente as ways to log in after registering; the AEAT says it does not use Cl@ve Permanente itself but describes it as valid for other services of the central administration; this page does not say which method any person uses: see After registering: Cl@ve Móvil, a code by SMS and Cl@ve Permanente.
  • The AEAT says the public administrations will not ask for Cl@ve codes through the channels its quote lists, and that third parties are not allowed to solicit, capture, reproduce or use the authentication mechanisms of the citizen; this page does not say who acts for any person in any procedure: see The codes are personal.
Sources and how current each is

How current each source is

SourceDate shown on the page or documentWe checkedNote
clave.gob.es: ¿Qué es Cl@ve? no date shown on the page 22 October 2026
clave.gob.es: ¿Dónde puedo usarlo? no date shown on the page 22 October 2026
Seguridad Social, Importass: Cl@ve no date shown on the page 22 October 2026
clave.gob.es: Registro, ¿Cómo puedo registrarme? no date shown on the page 22 October 2026
AEAT: Registro en Cl@ve por Internet con carta de invitación y CSV Página actualizada: 19/agosto/2026 22 October 2026
clave.gob.es: Registro presencial en una Oficina de Registro no date shown on the page 22 October 2026
AEAT: Registro presencial en el sistema Cl@ve Página actualizada: 19/agosto/2026 22 October 2026
administracion.gob.es: Necesito registrarme en Cl@ve no date shown on the page 22 October 2026
DGT: Registro en Sistema Cl@ve no date shown on the page 22 October 2026
AEAT: Asistencia en Oficinas de Registro, guide for office staff (PDF) Fecha: 19-05-2023, Versión: 2.2 (the date block on the first page of the document) 22 October 2026 The guide is addressed to the staff of the registration offices; its own date block gives version 2.2 and 19-05-2023.
BOE: Resolución de 14 de diciembre de 2015, de la Dirección de Tecnologías de la Información y las Comunicaciones, sobre las prescripciones técnicas del sistema Cl@ve (BOE-A-2015-14215, consolidated) Texto consolidado: «Última actualización, publicada el 29/12/2015» 22 October 2026
BOE: Ley 11/2007, de 22 de junio, de acceso electrónico de los ciudadanos a los Servicios Públicos (BOE-A-2007-12352), for its note that the law is repealed Texto consolidado: «Última actualización, publicada el 04/09/2018» 22 October 2026 The law is shown only for the BOE note that it was repealed; the law itself is not described.
clave.gob.es: Registro por Internet con videoidentificación automática no date shown on the page 22 October 2026
AEAT: Registrarse en Cl@ve Página actualizada: 20/octubre/2026 22 October 2026
clave.gob.es: Preguntas frecuentes sobre registro no date shown on the page 22 October 2026
clave.gob.es: Uso de Cl@ve Móvil no date shown on the page 22 October 2026
clave.gob.es: Cl@ve PIN, ¿Cuándo caduca? no date shown on the page 22 October 2026
clave.gob.es: Cl@ve PIN, preguntas frecuentes no date shown on the page 22 October 2026
clave.gob.es: ¿Qué es Cl@ve Permanente? no date shown on the page 22 October 2026
clave.gob.es: Preguntas frecuentes sobre Cl@ve no date shown on the page 22 October 2026
clave.gob.es: Cl@ve Permanente, ¿Cómo funciona? no date shown on the page 22 October 2026
clave.gob.es: Cl@ve Permanente, características de la contraseña no date shown on the page 22 October 2026
AEAT: Registro por Internet en Cl@ve con certificado o DNI electrónico Página actualizada: 19/agosto/2026 22 October 2026
AEAT: Cl@ve, preguntas frecuentes Página actualizada: 29/abril/2026 22 October 2026
AEAT: Uso personal de Cl@ve y prevención de prácticas de intermediación no autorizadas Página actualizada: 29/abril/2026 22 October 2026

This page gives no step to follow, no list of documents to bring and no advice, repeats no figure, period or fee outside the quotes, and says nothing of which route or which document applies to any person.

This guide reports what clave.gob.es (the official Cl@ve site), administracion.gob.es, the Agencia Tributaria (AEAT, the Spanish tax agency), the Seguridad Social, the Dirección General de Tráfico (DGT) and the BOE (the Official Journal, where the laws are published) say. Quotes are in Spanish, the language of the source, with the page, a link, the date that page shows or the words «no date shown on the page», and the day we read it, 22 October 2026. Where the pages word something differently, they are set side by side, each with its own date line, and are not reconciled. The English labelled In short in each section is our summary and says so; it is not a translation to rely on. This page is not advice.

What this page does and does not do

  • This page quotes the pages on what Cl@ve is, the levels of registration, the routes to register and the methods of use, and does not say which route, document or level applies to any person: see what we could not confirm.
  • The sources word differently the document a foreigner shows when registering in person, and the registration by video; each is shown side by side under a heading that says so, with each source's date line, and neither is reconciled.
  • The Resolución of 2015 quoted on the document question cites a law that the BOE marks as repealed; it is shown with the date of its BOE text and with that note.
  • The clave.gob.es, administracion.gob.es, DGT and Seguridad Social pages quoted show no date; the AEAT pages and the BOE texts show one.

What Cl@ve is and where it is used

In short (our summary, not a translation): clave.gob.es words Cl@ve as a system aimed at unifying and simplifying the electronic access of citizens to public services, in which the citizen identifies with concerted keys (user plus password), and words the only prior step to use it as having obtained the electronic credential beforehand by one of the procedures provided; its page on where it is used words Cl@ve as available for all electronic services of the Administración General de Estado, in all the Comunidades Autónomas and in most of the Entidades Locales; the Seguridad Social page words access with the identity document (DNI or NIE) and a password (Móvil or Permanente) to digital public services, among them SEPE, the Agencia Tributaria and the Seguridad Social. This page does not say that any service accepts Cl@ve from any person or which services accept it.

Official text (Spanish), What Cl@ve is and where it is used

The clave.gob.es page «¿Qué es Cl@ve?» says:

“Cl@ve es un sistema orientado a unificar y simplificar el acceso electrónico de los ciudadanos a los servicios públicos. Su objetivo principal es que el ciudadano pueda identificarse ante la Administración mediante claves concertadas (usuario más contraseña), sin tener que recordar claves diferentes para acceder a los distintos servicios.” (clave.gob.es, page «¿Qué es Cl@ve?», answer to the first question (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

In its answer to «¿Qué necesito para empezar?», the same page says, in the first paragraph and with the second paragraph not quoted:

“Para usar el sistema, únicamente necesitas haber obtenido previamente tu credencial electrónica de identificación mediante alguno de los procedimientos previstos.” (clave.gob.es, page «¿Qué es Cl@ve?», answer to «¿Qué necesito para empezar?» (its first paragraph; the second paragraph is not quoted))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

The clave.gob.es page «¿Dónde puedo usarlo?» says:

“Actualmente, Cl@ve está disponible para todos los servicios electrónicos de la Administración General de Estado, en todas las Comunidades Autónomas y en la mayoría de las Entidades Locales. Así, con el sistema Cl@ve podrás, por ejemplo, consultar tu Carpeta Ciudadana , presentar tu declaración de Renta o visualizar tus datos fiscales, consultar tu información clínica, tus puntos de la DGT, descargarte la vida laboral u obtener el certificado digital COVID.” (clave.gob.es, page «¿Dónde puedo usarlo?», the paragraph that begins «Actualmente» (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

A Seguridad Social page on Cl@ve says:

“Cl@ve es un sistema de identificación y firma que te permite relacionarte electrónicamente con la Administración. Con Cl@ve podrás acceder de forma segura con tu documento de identidad (DNI o NIE) y una contraseña (Móvil o Permanente) a servicios públicos digitales ofrecidos por Ayuntamientos, Comunidades Autónomas o servicios como SEPE, Agencia Tributaria o la Seguridad Social.” (Seguridad Social, Importass page on Cl@ve, answer to «¿Qué es Cl@ve?» (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

The basic and the advanced level

In short (our summary, not a translation): clave.gob.es words registration by video or by letter of invitation as giving a basic level that opens many services but is not valid for all and does not open Cl@ve Firma; the AEAT's note words registration by CSV or by video as a basic level, words some bodies other than the AEAT as possibly asking for an advanced level (in person or with a certificate or the electronic DNI), and words that after a manual review by a public employee a video registration may obtain an advanced level, with a notice in the app. This page does not say which level any service asks for.

Official text (Spanish), The basic and the advanced level

The clave.gob.es page «¿Cómo puedo registrarme?» says, on the basic level:

“Si te registras por Internet mediante videoidentificación automática o con carta de invitación, obtendrás un nivel básico de registro. Este nivel te permite acceder a muchos servicios, pero no es válido para todos, y no podrás utilizar Cl@ve Firma.” (clave.gob.es, page «¿Cómo puedo registrarme?», the paragraph on the basic level (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

The AEAT page on registering with a letter of invitation and CSV (page dated 19/agosto/2026) says, in the note under its first paragraph:

“Nota: El registro mediante CSV o con videoidentificación supone un nivel de registro básico en Cl@ve. Algunos organismos distintos a la AEAT podrán requerir un nivel avanzado (registro presencial o con certificado electrónico/DNIe) para acceder a sus trámites más habituales. No obstante, en el registro con videoidentificación, tras la revisión manual por parte de un empleado público puedes obtener un nivel de registro avanzado, en este caso recibirás un aviso mediante una notificación en la APP Cl@ve.” (AEAT, page on registering with a letter of invitation and CSV, the note under the first paragraph (the whole note))
Página actualizada: 19/agosto/2026; read 22 October 2026

Registering in person

Official text (Spanish), Registering in person

The clave.gob.es page on registering in person says, in its paragraph on the offices:

“Puedes encontrar la relación de Oficinas de Registro actualizada en el buscador del Portal General de Acceso. Marca la opción ‘Cl@ve’ para que aparezcan las oficinas que ofrecen este servicio. Recuerda, asimismo, que muchas oficinas requieren cita previa.” (clave.gob.es, page on registering in person, the paragraph on the offices finder (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

Which document is named for an in-person registration: sources that word it differently

The sources below word differently the document a foreigner takes to register in person. They are set side by side, each with its own date line, and are not reconciled. The first of them, clave.gob.es, names the DNI and no other document in the words quoted; this page does not say whether that wording is meant for every applicant.

In short (our summary, not a translation): the Resolución words the persons who may register as Spanish citizens with a DNI and foreign citizens with a TIE or an EU citizen certificate, the documents in force, and words a possible extension to Spanish citizens resident abroad without a DNI in force; administracion.gob.es words, for a foreigner with an NIE, a list of the EU registration certificate, the foreigner identity card or a residence permit, and in addition a passport or, for an EU citizen, the identity document of the country of origin; clave.gob.es words attendance in person with the DNI and no registration by a third party or an apoderado; the AEAT page words attendance in person with the DNI / NIE and no registration by representation or by apoderamiento, and words foreign citizens as proving their identity with the documentation issued by the authorities of the country of origin: passport or travel document; the DGT words, for its own offices, an original identification document, DNI or NIE, and in addition for foreign citizens a document with legal validity (the EU registration certificate, the foreigner identity card or the residence permit); the AEAT guide for the office staff words an NIE assigned to a foreign citizen as indispensable for the in-person registration of that citizen and, to verify identity, a document with legal validity together with the documentation proving identity issued by the authorities of the country of origin or of provenance. The BOE note words Ley 11/2007 as repealed with effects from the date the quote gives, with the articles on the matters the quote lists kept in force until the date the quote gives. This page does not say which of these lists applies to any foreigner, which documents any office asks for, or whether any page's wording is meant for every applicant.

Official text (Spanish), Which document is named for an in-person registration: sources that word it differently

The clave.gob.es page on registering in person (no date shown on the page) says, in its first paragraph:

“Para el registro en Cl@ve de forma presencial es imprescindible la presencia física de la persona que se va a registrar, así como que acuda con su DNI.” (clave.gob.es, page on registering in person, first paragraph (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

It goes on, in its second paragraph:

“Por tanto, no cabe instar registros en CL@VE mediante representación por parte de un tercero o apoderado.” (clave.gob.es, page on registering in person, second paragraph (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

The AEAT page on in-person registration (page dated 19/agosto/2026) says, in its paragraph on attending:

“Para realizar el registro presencial es imprescindible la comparecencia física del interesado, por lo que debe acudir personalmente con su DNI / NIE. Este trámite no puede efectuarse mediante representación ni a través de apoderamiento.” (AEAT, page on in-person registration, the paragraph on attending (the whole paragraph))
Página actualizada: 19/agosto/2026; read 22 October 2026

It says, in its paragraph on foreign citizens:

“Los ciudadanos extranjeros deben acreditar su identidad presentando la documentación expedida por las autoridades competentes del país de origen: pasaporte o documento de viaje.” (AEAT, page on in-person registration, the paragraph on foreign citizens (the whole paragraph))
Página actualizada: 19/agosto/2026; read 22 October 2026

The administracion.gob.es page «Necesito registrarme en Cl@ve» (no date shown on the page) lists what to provide; its foreigner part, from the heading of the part to the end of the passport item, says:

“Si eres extranjero y tienes NIE: Certificado de registro de ciudadano de la UE, tarjeta de identidad de extranjero o permiso de residencia, y además Pasaporte (si eres ciudadano de la UE, también puedes identificarte con el documento de identidad del país de origen, en lugar del pasaporte)” (administracion.gob.es, page «Necesito registrarme en Cl@ve», the list of what to provide, from «Si eres extranjero y tienes NIE:» to the end of the passport item (the whole foreigner part of the list))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

The DGT page on registration in Cl@ve at its own offices (no date shown on the page) says, in the first two items of its list of what to provide:

“Documento original de identificación, DNI o NIE. Para ciudadanos extranjeros se solicitará además algún documento identificativo con validez legal: Certificado de Registro de Ciudadano de la Unión, Tarjeta de Identidad de Extranjero o Permiso de residencia.” (DGT, page on registration in Cl@ve at its offices, the first two items of the list of what to provide (the whole of both items))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

The AEAT guide «Asistencia en Oficinas de Registro» (version 2.2, dated 19-05-2023) is addressed to the staff of the registration offices. It says, in section 2.1.4, in its first two paragraphs on foreign citizens, with the paragraph after them and the instructions on British citizens not quoted:

“Para el registro presencial de un ciudadano extranjero es imprescindible que tenga asignado un Número de Identificación de Extranjero (NIE), que deberá quedar registrado en el proceso. Para verificar la identidad del ciudadano extranjero que se registra en el sistema Cl@ve, se solicitará un documento identificativo con validez legal: Certificado de Registro de Ciudadano de la Unión, Tarjeta de Identidad de Extranjero o Permiso de residencia, junto con la documentación que acredite su identidad, expedida por las autoridades competentes del país de origen o de procedencia.” (AEAT, guide «Asistencia en Oficinas de Registro», version 2.2 dated 19-05-2023, section 2.1.4, the first two paragraphs on foreign citizens (the guide is addressed to the staff of the registration offices; the paragraph after them and the instructions on British citizens are not quoted))
Fecha: 19-05-2023, Versión: 2.2 (the date block on the first page of the document); read 22 October 2026

The Resolución of 14 December 2015 (BOE-A-2015-14215), in the text of its consolidated version dated 29/12/2015, says, in section IV.1 of its Prescripciones Técnicas, second paragraph:

“Se podrán registrar en Cl@ve ciudadanos españoles con Documento Nacional de Identidad (DNI) y ciudadanos extranjeros con Tarjeta de Identidad de Extranjeros (TIE) o Certificado de Ciudadano de la Unión Europea; en ambos casos los documentos habrán de estar en vigor. La posibilidad de registro podrá ser extendida a ciudadanos españoles residentes en el extranjero sin DNI en vigor, mediante la habilitación de procedimientos de verificación de la identidad equivalentes a los establecidos para los ciudadanos con DNI.” (Resolución de 14 de diciembre de 2015 (BOE-A-2015-14215), Prescripciones Técnicas, section IV.1, second paragraph (the whole paragraph))
Texto consolidado: «Última actualización, publicada el 29/12/2015»; read 22 October 2026

A dated text

  • The Resolución quoted above names Ley 11/2007 as the law it follows (section III of its Prescripciones Técnicas, first paragraph, quoted next), and the BOE page for Ley 11/2007 carries a note «Norma derogada» (quoted after it). This page does not say what law the Resolución rests on today.

The Resolución says, in section III of its Prescripciones Técnicas, first paragraph:

“Cl@ve es un sistema de Identificación, Autenticación y Firma Electrónica común para todo el Sector Público Administrativo Estatal, basado en el uso de claves concertadas, conforme a lo previsto en el artículo 13.2.c) de la Ley 11/2007, de 22 de junio, de acceso electrónico de los ciudadanos a los servicios públicos.” (Resolución de 14 de diciembre de 2015 (BOE-A-2015-14215), Prescripciones Técnicas, section III, first paragraph (the whole paragraph))
Texto consolidado: «Última actualización, publicada el 29/12/2015»; read 22 October 2026

The BOE page for Ley 11/2007 (consolidated text dated 04/09/2018) carries, under its annex, this note, in two paragraphs:

“Norma derogada, con efectos de 2 de octubre de 2016, por la disposición derogatoria única.2.b) de la Ley 39/2015, de 1 de octubre. Ref. BOE-A-2015-10565. No obstante, hasta que, de acuerdo con lo dispuesto en la disposición final séptima, en la redacción dada por la disposición final 9 del Real Decreto-ley 28/2020, de 22 de septiembre, Ref. BOE-A-2020-11043, produzcan efectos las previsiones relativas al registro electrónico de apoderamientos, registro electrónico, punto de acceso general electrónico de la Administración y archivo único electrónico, que será a partir del día 2 de abril de 2021, se mantendrán en vigor los artículos relativos a las materias mencionadas.” (BOE page for Ley 11/2007, the note under the annex (the whole note, in two paragraphs))
Texto consolidado: «Última actualización, publicada el 04/09/2018»; read 22 October 2026

Registering with a letter of invitation

In short (our summary, not a translation): the AEAT's page words the letter of invitation as sent by post to the domicilio fiscal, with the registration completed with the Código Seguro de Verificación (CSV), and words, for an NIE, a request for the support number shown on the document; it words the period for using the letter, and the expiry of the CSV after it, as the quote gives. This page does not say what a person with no Spanish tax address does about the letter, how long a letter takes to arrive, or whether any person is sent one.

Official text (Spanish), Registering with a letter of invitation

The AEAT page on registering with a letter of invitation and CSV (page dated 19/agosto/2026) says, in the paragraph that begins «Si no dispones de certificado electrónico»:

“Si no dispones de certificado electrónico, puedes registrarte por Internet, bien solicitando la carta de invitación (enviada por correo postal a tu domicilio fiscal) y completando el registro con el código Seguro de Verificación (CSV) o bien con videoidentificación desde APP Cl@ve.” (AEAT, page on registering with a letter of invitation and CSV, the paragraph that begins «Si no dispones de certificado electrónico» (the whole paragraph))
Página actualizada: 19/agosto/2026; read 22 October 2026

In the first step of the form, the item for an NIE says, in its first sentence and with the rest of the item, on help links, not quoted:

“Si se trata de un NIE: se solicitará el número de soporte que aparece en el documento. …” (AEAT, page on registering with a letter of invitation and CSV, the item on an NIE in the first step, its first sentence; the item goes on with sentences on help links that are not quoted)
Página actualizada: 19/agosto/2026; read 22 October 2026

It says, on using the letter:

“Una vez que hayas recibido la carta dispondrás de 60 días para utilizarla. Completa el registro accediendo de nuevo a la misma opción "Registrarse en Cl@ve" del portal "Registro Cl@ve" y facilitando los datos solicitados: DNI/NIE y fecha de validez/expedición o número de soporte. En esta ocasión, marca la opción "Ya dispongo de una carta invitación" y pulsa el botón "Continuar". Ten en cuenta que dispones de 60 días para utilizarla, pasado este tiempo el CSV caducará.” (AEAT, page on registering with a letter of invitation and CSV, the paragraph on using the letter (the whole paragraph))
Página actualizada: 19/agosto/2026; read 22 October 2026

Registering by video: pages that word it differently

The pages below word differently the registration by video. They are set side by side, each with its own date line, and are not reconciled.

In short (our summary, not a translation): clave.gob.es and the AEAT word a registration system by video identification, remote and without travel, and word that for now it is offered only to Spanish citizens with a DNI in force; the Seguridad Social page words a registration by video call, at the times its sentence gives, and names no such limit in that sentence. This page does not say whether any foreigner may register by video or by video call, when any such route is open, or which of the pages applies.

Official text (Spanish), Registering by video: pages that word it differently

The clave.gob.es page on registering by automatic video identification (no date shown on the page) says, in the first two sentences of its first paragraph, with the paragraph's list not quoted:

“Cl@ve ofrece un sistema de registro por videoidentificación, que permite a los ciudadanos registrarse de forma remota, sin necesidad de desplazamientos y con total garantía de seguridad. Temporalmente solo se ofrecerá el registro por videoidentificación a ciudadanos españoles con un DNI en vigor. …” (clave.gob.es, page on registering by automatic video identification (basic level), the first two sentences of its first paragraph; the paragraph goes on with «Solo necesitas:» and a list that is not quoted)
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

The AEAT page «Registrarse en Cl@ve» (page dated 20/octubre/2026) says, in the first two sentences of the first paragraph of its section on automatic video identification, with the paragraph's list not quoted:

“Cl@ve ofrece un sistema de registro por videoidentificación, que permite a los ciudadanos registrarse de forma remota, sin necesidad de desplazamientos y con total garantía de seguridad. Temporalmente solo se ofrecerá el registro por videoidentificación a ciudadanos españoles con un DNI en vigor. …” (AEAT, page «Registrarse en Cl@ve», section on automatic video identification (basic level), the first two sentences of its first paragraph; the paragraph goes on with «Solo necesitas:» and a list that is not quoted)
Página actualizada: 20/octubre/2026; read 22 October 2026

A Seguridad Social page on Cl@ve (no date shown on the page) says, in its section «Online por vídeollamada», in its first sentence:

“Podrás registrarte en Cl@ve por videollamada de lunes a viernes de 9:00 a 14:00.” (Seguridad Social, Importass page on Cl@ve, section «Online por vídeollamada», first sentence (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

A phone number from another country

In short (our summary, not a translation): clave.gob.es words registration with a foreign phone number as possible, and words that, with a foreign number, the receipt of SMS messages from operators of other countries is to be checked. This page does not say that any particular foreign number is accepted.

Official text (Spanish), A phone number from another country

The clave.gob.es FAQ on registration says, in its answer to the question on a foreign phone number:

“Sí, es posible registrarse en Cl@ve con un número de teléfono extranjero.” (clave.gob.es, FAQ on registration, answer to the question on a foreign phone number (its first paragraph, one sentence))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

It says, in the paragraph that follows:

“Si se da alta con un número de teléfono extranjero, compruebe que puede recibir mensajes SMS desde operadores de otros países distintos al suyo.” (clave.gob.es, FAQ on registration, the paragraph on a foreign number that follows (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

After registering: Cl@ve Móvil, a code by SMS and Cl@ve Permanente

In short (our summary, not a translation): clave.gob.es words, on the page on Cl@ve Móvil, a PIN sent by SMS of the length the quote gives and only one active device for a DNI/NIE; on its pages on the Cl@ve PIN, a PIN that is used once and within the time the quote gives; on Cl@ve Permanente, a system for people who access the electronic services frequently, based on a user code, the DNI or NIE and a password, with a normal mode of use (user and password) and a reinforced mode for services that ask for a higher level of security, which adds the code received on the phone and, for that SMS, asks for an advanced level of registration, and a password that expires after the period the quote gives; the AEAT words that it does not use Cl@ve Permanente but that Cl@ve Permanente is a valid system to identify in other electronic services of the Administración General del Estado. This page does not say whether the Cl@ve PIN is still a separate method, what format any PIN or code has, which services use the reinforced mode, or which method any person uses.

Official text (Spanish), After registering: Cl@ve Móvil, a code by SMS and Cl@ve Permanente

The clave.gob.es page «Uso de Cl@ve Móvil» says, in its step on the access with a PIN by SMS:

“Recibirás un PIN de 6 dígitos numéricos por SMS que hay que introducir en el campo "PIN de acceso". Por último pulsa "Acceder".” (clave.gob.es, page «Uso de Cl@ve Móvil», step on the access with a PIN by SMS (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

It says, in the paragraph that follows the step:

“Recuerda que solo puedes tener activo un dispositivo para tu DNI/NIE.” (clave.gob.es, page «Uso de Cl@ve Móvil», the paragraph that follows the step (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

The clave.gob.es page «¿Cuándo caduca?», in its pages on the Cl@ve PIN, says, in its second paragraph:

“Además, deberás utilizar el PIN que has recibido antes de 10 minutos, ya que pasado ese tiempo, si no has llegado a acceder a Cl@ve, deberás solicitar un nuevo PIN.” (clave.gob.es, page «¿Cuándo caduca?» in the Cl@ve PIN pages, the second paragraph (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

Its FAQ says, in the answer on how many times the Cl@ve PIN is used, in the first paragraph:

“El PIN que recibe en tu teléfono móvil sólo puede ser utilizado una vez para completar el acceso al sistema .” (clave.gob.es, FAQ in the Cl@ve PIN pages, answer to «¿Cuántas veces se puede utilizar el Cl@ve PIN?», its first paragraph (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

The clave.gob.es page «¿Qué es Cl@ve Permanente?» says, in its first paragraph:

“Es un sistema de autenticación diseñado para personas que necesitan acceder frecuentemente a los servicios electrónicos de la Administración. Se basa en el uso de un código de usuario, su DNI o NIE, y de una contraseña que se establece en el proceso de activación y que sólo debe ser conocida por ti. Para acceder al proceso de activación es necesario que previamente te hayas registrado en el sistema.” (clave.gob.es, page «¿Qué es Cl@ve Permanente?», first paragraph (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

The clave.gob.es FAQ on Cl@ve says, in its answer on the SMS code with Cl@ve Permanente, in three consecutive paragraphs:

“El sistema de Cl@ve permanente tiene dos modalidades de uso, la normal y la reforzada.” (clave.gob.es, FAQ on Cl@ve, answer to the question on the SMS code with Cl@ve Permanente, first paragraph (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026
“En el modo de uso normal, solamente es necesario proporcionar el usuario y la contraseña.” (clave.gob.es, FAQ on Cl@ve, the same answer, second paragraph (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026
“Sin embargo, determinados servicios, por el tipo de operación y de información que manejan, necesitan un nivel de seguridad mayor al que proporciona el uso normal. En ese caso, para acceder a ellos es necesario usar el modo reforzado, identificándose además de con el usuario y la contraseña, con la clave recibida en el teléfono.” (clave.gob.es, FAQ on Cl@ve, the same answer, third paragraph (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

The clave.gob.es page «¿Cómo funciona?» in its Cl@ve Permanente pages says, in its paragraph on the code by SMS:

“Si el servicio al que quieres acceder requiere mayor nivel de seguridad, se te solicitará la introducción de un código numérico de un solo uso (OTP), que previamente te remitiremos via SMS al número de móvil que facilitaste en el acto de registro. Ten en cuenta que para recibir este SMS tu nivel de registro en Cl@ve debe ser avanzado.” (clave.gob.es, page «¿Cómo funciona?» in the Cl@ve Permanente pages, the paragraph on the code by SMS (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

Its page on the characteristics of the password says, in its paragraph on expiry:

“Tu contraseña caduca a los 2 años, siendo obligatorio su cambio pasado este tiempo. Si accedes al servicio pasado este tiempo, se te solicitará que renueves tu contraseña. También puedes modificarla en cualquier momento a través del servicio de Cambio de Contraseña, momento a partir del cual contarás con otros 2 años de vigencia.” (clave.gob.es, page on the characteristics of the Cl@ve Permanente password, the paragraph on its expiry (the whole paragraph))
no date shown on the page; read 22 October 2026

The AEAT page on registering with a certificate or the electronic DNI (page dated 19/agosto/2026) says, in a note:

“Nota: La AEAT no utiliza Cl@ve Permanente pero sí es un sistema válido para identificarse en otros servicios electrónicos de la Administración General del Estado.” (AEAT, page on registering with a certificate or the electronic DNI, the note on Cl@ve Permanente (the whole note))
Página actualizada: 19/agosto/2026; read 22 October 2026

The codes are personal

In short (our summary, not a translation): the AEAT's FAQ words that the public administrations will not ask for Cl@ve codes through the channels the quote lists; the AEAT's page on personal use words that third parties are not allowed to solicit, capture, reproduce or use the authentication mechanisms of the citizen to access services in the citizen's name, or to intermediate in the process, and lists, as an improper use of the system, acting in the citizen's name with the credentials or authentication factors, even with the citizen's consent, and the other acts of the list. This page does not say who acts for any person in any procedure.

Official text (Spanish), The codes are personal

The AEAT FAQ on Cl@ve (page dated 29/abril/2026) says:

“Las Administraciones Públicas no te pedirán tus códigos de Cl@ve por teléfono, correo electrónico, SMS ni a través de servicios de internet de terceros.” (AEAT, FAQ on Cl@ve, the paragraph on who will not ask for the codes (the whole paragraph))
Página actualizada: 29/abril/2026; read 22 October 2026

The AEAT page «Uso personal de Cl@ve y prevención de prácticas de intermediación no autorizadas» (page dated 29/abril/2026) says, in its paragraph that begins «En este sentido» and in the list that follows it:

“En este sentido, no está permitido que terceros —personas físicas o jurídicas, públicas o privadas— soliciten, capten, reproduzcan o utilicen los mecanismos de autenticación de Cl@ve del ciudadano para acceder en su nombre a los servicios electrónicos de las Administraciones Públicas, ni que intermedien en el proceso de identificación o autenticación. En particular, constituye un uso indebido del sistema: acceder a servicios electrónicos en nombre del ciudadano utilizando sus credenciales o factores de autenticación, incluso con su consentimiento, utilizar soluciones basadas en captura o reutilización de credenciales, proxying, automatización de autenticaciones, robotización, scripting o cualquier mecanismo de intermediación técnica, reproducir o presentar al ciudadano códigos QR, notificaciones o peticiones de autenticación generadas por sistemas interpuestos, o almacenar, tratar o reutilizar códigos de un solo uso, contraseñas o cualquier otro elemento destinado a autenticar al ciudadano.” (AEAT, page «Uso personal de Cl@ve y prevención de prácticas de intermediación no autorizadas», the paragraph that begins «En este sentido» and the list that follows it (the whole paragraph and the whole list))
Página actualizada: 29/abril/2026; read 22 October 2026

What we could not confirm

The list in the box at the end of this page, under “What we couldn't confirm officially”, holds what we could not confirm: whether a foreigner may register by video; which one list of documents applies to a foreigner registering in person; what a person with no Spanish tax address does about the letter of invitation; whether the Cl@ve PIN is still a separate method and what format a PIN has; whether the AEAT asks for the reinforced mode or an advanced level; which services ask for an advanced level; whether the padrón or a cita previa asks for Cl@ve or accepts it; any fee and any time a registration takes; how a citizen of another EU country with no Spanish identity document identifies; and the matters not read.

Questions to take to a Cl@ve registration office or the AEAT

  • Ask whether registration by video is open to the person at hand.
  • Ask whether the office at hand asks the person at hand for the DNI, the NIE or another identity document.
  • Ask whether the office asks for an NIE already assigned to the person at hand.
  • Ask whether the passport, or the identity document of the country of origin, is asked for as well as the residence document.
  • Ask whether the office at hand asks for an appointment and how it is booked.
  • Ask whether a letter of invitation is sent to a person with no Spanish tax address, and to which address.
  • Ask whether the letter of invitation at hand has run out by the day it is used.
  • Ask whether a phone number from another country is accepted for the registration at hand.
  • Ask whether the registration at hand gives a basic or an advanced level.
  • Ask whether the procedure at hand asks for more than the basic level of registration.
  • Ask whether a registration by video is reviewed by a public employee, and when.
  • Ask whether the method used for the procedure at hand is Cl@ve Móvil, a code by SMS or Cl@ve Permanente.
  • Ask whether a fee applies to the registration at hand.
  • Ask whether the pages quoted here are still the current ones.
What we couldn't confirm officially
  • Whether a foreigner may now register in Cl@ve by video, or when that route opens to foreigners, is not stated on any page we read: the clave.gob.es page and the AEAT page print that the registration by video is for now offered only to Spanish citizens with a DNI in force, and the sentence quoted from the Seguridad Social page words a registration by video call without that limit. This page says nothing on it either way. unverified
  • Which one list of documents applies to a foreigner who registers in person is not stated: the Resolución, administracion.gob.es, the AEAT, the DGT, the clave.gob.es page and the AEAT guide for the office staff word it differently, as shown side by side above. This page does not say which documents any person takes or which an office accepts. unverified
  • What a person with no Spanish tax address does about the letter of invitation is not stated on any page we read: the pages quoted word the letter as sent by post to the domicilio fiscal. This page does not say whether any route is open to such a person. unverified
  • Whether the Cl@ve PIN pages still describe a separate method, and what format a PIN or a code has: the clave.gob.es pages on Cl@ve PIN and on Cl@ve Móvil, the AEAT page on registering with a certificate and administracion.gob.es name and describe the PIN in different words. This page does not say which wording describes the service today. unverified
  • Whether the AEAT asks for the reinforced mode or for any registration level other than the basic one for any of its procedures is not stated on any page we read: the AEAT's note quoted above says that the AEAT does not use Cl@ve Permanente, and its page on registering by letter says that some bodies other than the AEAT may ask for an advanced level. This page does not say which level any AEAT procedure asks for. unverified
  • Which services ask for an advanced level of registration or for the reinforced mode, including any procedure of the AEAT, the Seguridad Social or the DGT: the clave.gob.es pages we read word that some methods may not be available for some services and name no list. This page does not say which services. unverified
  • Whether Cl@ve is needed or accepted for the registration on the padrón or for a cita previa for any procedure is not stated on any page we read; the only cita previa the pages quoted mention is the one for registering in Cl@ve in person. This page says nothing on it. unverified
  • Any fee for registering in Cl@ve, and how long a registration takes before it is usable, are not stated in the wording quoted here. This page does not say whether any fee applies or how long any route takes. unverified
  • How a citizen of another EU country who has no Spanish identity document identifies through the European eIDAS system is not described in the wording quoted here. This page does not describe any steps. unverified
  • Not read, and not covered: the list of registration offices (the office finder did not load when we tried it), opening hours and waiting times, registration with a certificate or the electronic DNI beyond the note quoted, the registration of a minor, the change of data and the withdrawal from the system, and Cl@ve Firma. unverified
  • The clave.gob.es, administracion.gob.es, DGT and Seguridad Social pages quoted show no date, so this page does not say when their wording last changed; the AEAT pages show the dates printed with each quote. unverified

Sources

General information, not legal, tax or financial advice. Rules change: check the official page, or ask a gestor or lawyer, before you act. How we check our sources · All guides